Robert Burns Supper coming this Sunday

This coming Sunday, January 19, 2020, Susan will be wearing many hats at the Celtic Arts Center’s Robert Burns Supper.  On top of performing with the Blackwaterside Trio (together with Sean Michael Clegg on guitar/vocals and Christa Burch on Bodhrán/vocals), Susan will be delivering the Address to the Haggis and the Immortal Memory speech.  This is a wonderful occasion — Scottish culture at its best!  There will be poetry, music and whisky.  What could be better?  Hope to see you there!

Sunday, January 19th, 5:30p.m. at the Mayflower Club in North Hollywood
11110 Victory Blvd, North Hollywood, CA 91606

World Premiere of “Sue’s Night on the Town” for Flute and Wind Ensemble

I’m very excited to announce that I will be performing a World Premiere of composer Ross Wright’s piece “Sue’s Night on the Town” for Flute and Wind Ensemble next Sunday, April 14th.

“Sue’s Night on the Town” is a one-movement flute concerto, composed in 2018 by Ross Wright, especially for me. I will be performing it with the 90-piece L.A. Symphonic Winds, conducted by Steve Piazza. For those of you who know Ross’s music, this is another one of his wild rides!

“Sue’s Night on the Town” will be featured as part of the annual “Stars of the L.A. Winds” concert. This concert will feature several composers, soloists, arrangers and conductors from the ensemble.

A couple other exciting pieces on the program are:
“Sir David” by Charles Fernandez, and Malcolm Arnold’s “Tam O’Shanter,” program music based on Robert Burn’s epic poem. Susan Craig Winsberg and Karen Milne (from Scotland) will be reciting excerpts of the poem in advance of the piece. For those of you who don’t know the story of Tam O’ Shanter, you’re in for a treat!

Here is the info for the concert:
Sunday, April 14th at 2:30 pm
Calabasas High School Performing Arts Education Center
22855 Mulholland Hwy,
Calabasas, CA 91302

Tickets are $20 at the door.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.